Karobwa towers, Nkrumah Road    P.O.Box 2122 Kampala Uganda.    Tel(+256) 414-251-258

Professional competencies and their target levels

The APC aims to assess that you are competent to carry out the work of a qualified chartered surveyor. To be competent is to have the skill or ability to perform a task or function. The RICS competencies are not just a list of tasks or functions, they are also based upon attitudes and behaviours. The competencies have been drawn up in a generic way so that they can be applied to different areas of practice. This guide is designed to help you interpret these competencies within the context of valuation practice.

Please note, candidates who are working in machinery and business assets when referring to property this can be taken to also mean assets and liabilities.

The competencies are defined at three levels of attainment and each APC chapter has its own specific combination of competencies that you must achieve at the appropriate level. You must reach the required level in a logical progression and in successive stages:

Level 1 – Knowledge and understanding

Level 2 – Application of knowledge and understanding

Level 3 – Reasoned advice and depth of technical knowledge

The competencies are in three distinct categories:

Mandatory competencies – the personal, interpersonal, professional practice and business competencies common to all chapters and compulsory for all candidates.

Core competencies – the primary competencies of your chosen APC Chapter.

Optional competencies – a set of competencies selected by the candidate from a list defined for the particular chapter. In most cases there is an element of choice. These are mostly technical competencies, but certain mandatory competencies also appear on the optional competency list and candidates are permitted to select one of these to a higher level.

Pay Fees
Bank-slip or receipt?

Pay with:

Pay Now

Powered by